Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu

What is Rehabilitative Alimony?


One of the most significant aspects of the Florida divorce process is determining whether, and what kind, of alimony one spouse should receive during and after the divorce. There are many different types of alimony allowed under Florida law, and the type of spousal support awarded could significantly impact the outcome of your divorce case. One of the most common types of alimony awarded in Florida is rehabilitative alimony. To learn more about rehabilitative alimony and other types of spousal support, call or contact the law office of Blair H. Chan, III in Tampa today for an initial consultation of your case.

What is Rehabilitative Alimony?

The purpose of rehabilitative alimony after a divorce is to help one spouse establish the skills necessary to become self-sufficient. This can be accomplished either through the redevelopment of skills, training, and credentials or through the development of new skills, education, training, and work experience for employment. In order for the court to award one spouse rehabilitative alimony, the recipient spouse must submit a plan to the judge that includes specific details about what type of training is necessary, the time it will take to complete, and the cost. If the plan is approved by the court the recipient spouse will receive the support necessary to rehabilitate their skill set for the workforce.

However, it is important to note that rehabilitative alimony is monitored more closely than other types of spousal support. The judge can terminate rehabilitative alimony if the recipient spouse does not complete their training in accordance with the plan or if there is a substantial change in circumstances for either spouse. Rehabilitative alimony also automatically terminates upon completion of the plan. Rehabilitative spousal support can be awarded by itself or in addition to other types of Florida alimony.

Other Types of Florida Alimony

Florida statutory law also allows for other types of alimony to be awarded during and after a divorce. The other types of spousal support include bridge-the-gap, durational, and permanent alimony. Bridge-the-gap alimony helps one spouse transition to financial independence following a divorce. Durational alimony is also known as temporary alimony and is only paid for a set amount of time after the divorce is finalized. Permanent alimony is paid to one spouse following a divorce until the recipient spouse gets remarried or either spouse dies. Speak with Florida divorce law professional today to learn more about what you can expect when it comes to spousal support in your case.

Talk to Our Office Now

Understanding how rehabilitative alimony and other types of spousal support can impact your divorce settlement is critical to the success of your case. If you would like to speak with an experienced Tampa spousal support attorney, contact the law firm of Blair H. Chan, III now to schedule an initial consultation to discuss your case.





Facebook Twitter LinkedIn